Venezia- Part one- Architecture

Saturday we were invited to a road trip with some friends of ours. As far as I had heard, we were going to take a train to Verona for the day, and I was thrilled. I’ve been wanting to see Verona for ages. When we got in the truck and started heading toward Padova, in the opposite direction, I was confused. After a trek through IKEA we loaded back into the truck and rode on to Venice.

(Please pardon the small photos. I am moving into this blog from a tumblr account. This post was copied and pasted just as a test. Most likely I’ll come back through soon to see if uploading the pictures here to wordpress will make them clickable and bigger.)

image

Let me start by saying this: I am in love with Venice! It felt like a mix of many cities that I’ve visited in my life, with a large dash of something completely new.

image

The architecture was beyond compare. I have never seen anything like it.

image

One of the first buildings you see as you enter Venice.

image

We wandered down winding pathways, sometimes following the crowds, other times entirely by ourselves. Our friends, who have visited Venice numerous times, were in a bit of a hurry so we moved much faster than I would have liked.

image

I casually snapped this picture as we walked because I am enamored with signage and graphical lettering. I looked up the Scuola Grande di San Rocco, just out of curiosity and WOW. If you get bored, check it out.

image

This building was next to a Leonardo da Vinci museum. Next time….

image

Some of the buildings seemed as though they would have been at home in India.

image

Some rose out of nowhere, hidden to the casual tourist and discovered only by the experienced traveler (or the lost).

image

I would have taken triple the photos if I’d been on my own.

image

The Rialto Bridge. It was much, much bigger than I expected. It was also packed.

Construction of the bridge began in 1551 after the previous bridge(s), made of wood, had been burned in a revolt in 1310 and collapsed under a crowd watching a boat parade in 1444. This was the fourth of five total collapses of this bridge, the final time occurring in 1524. After 40 years of building, in 1591, the bridge was finally completed, and has stood, proudly spanning the Grand Canal since that time. The stone railways were worn smooth from the hands of millions of tourists who have traversed it.

image

At the apex of the Rialto. I have researched like crazy and I can not tell you who this fellow is or why he is there. Perhaps he is Neptune. Perhaps he is the bridge designer, Antonio da Ponte. If I ever find out, I will be sure to let you know. Next time I am in Venice I will ask around until I have an answer.

image

I could stare at this view forever.

image

See the stones beneath the dragon?

image

Wide enough for three people to walk side by side.

image

The photo does not do it justice. This sign glistened in the sun.

imageimage

Behind the Rialto Bridge. I almost walked right past it. It was hiding in plain sight.

image

I think you could spend a year in Venice and never see all of the buildings. Somehow we completely missed St. Mark’s Square and the Basilica. Next time I will not leave until I’ve seen it.

So there you go! Buildings of Venice!

Stay tuned for future editions- canals, shopping, random things seen… I took so many pictures that I can’t squeeze them all into one post.

Coming soon!

 

7 thoughts on “ Venezia- Part one- Architecture

    • Oh, I am! Venice was one of the most beautiful cities I have ever seen! You are so very lucky to live there! I live in Vicenza, so I will be visiting Venice quite often over the next few years. The train makes it so easy and inexpensive. In fact, we’ll be back there in about two weeks with some visiting friends. I can’t wait!

      By the way, I love your photographs! I’m slowly learning how to improve mine, so I am going to peruse your blog for tips, if you don’t mind 🙂

      • Thank you! I can’t wait to give it a good look. I just got this great camera and I want to do it justice, especially considering where I live! I just keep playing around with it and I’m slowly improving. These first few Venice trips will be tourist visits, but one I’ve seen the normal sights, I can’t wait to explore the back roads and off-the beaten path areas. I’d much rather see the local side of Venice.

Leave a Reply

